St. John's Anglican Church

St. John's Anglican Church

Congratulations and

best wishes to our new

Rector - The Reverend

Pamela Guyatt

who was inducted

to the Ministry of

St. John's Church on 

Sunday, February 18th

  

   

 

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH:   St. John's was erected in 1841 by Loyalists who had settled in the village of Jordan, on the banks of the Twenty Mile Creek. It opened for services in May 1842. The church, a blend of Gothic Revival with classic proportions, designed by John Howard, was built on lands originally granted to Thomas Butler of the Butlers Rangers, and later donated by the Ball family. St. John's was consecrated on May 15th,1854 by Bishop John Strachan, the first bishop of Toronto. click here for more information