Synod Council

Provincial Synod

The Diocese of Niagara is part of the Ecclesiastical Province of Ontario which is a grouping of dioceses into a common area. Ecclesiastical provinces meet in Provincial Synods every three years to transact business of common interest. The bishop responsible for an ecclesiastical province is called the Metropolitan Archbishop. The Metropolitan, currently The Most Reverend Colin Johnson, is elected by the Provincial Synod which is composed of bishops, clergy and lay delegates. Members are elected at Diocesan Synod from both clergy and laity from the dioceses of Algoma, Huron, Moosonee, Niagara, Ontario, Ottawa and Toronto.

The next Provincial Synod will be held October 10-12, 2018 in Ottawa.


August 27 2017 Niagara Youth Conference (NYC)

Canterbury Hills, Ancaster

Read more

September 22 2017 The Genesis Project Introductory Concert

Christ's Church Cathedral, Hamilton - 7:00-8:30pm

Read more

September 23 2017 The Genesis Project Seminar #1

Christ's Church Cathedral, Hamilton - 9:30am to 5:00pm

Read more

September 24 2017 Niagara Cursillo Annual Meeting 2017

Christ's Church Catherdral, Hamilton - 3:00pm

September 27 2017 Annual Giving Workshop

St. George, St. Catharines - 7:00-9:00pm

Read more

September 30 2017 Movement Storytelling Workshop

Saturday, September 30, 2017 - 9:00am to 5:00pm

Read more

October 1 2017 Order of Niagara - Brock, Mohawk and Trafalgar Regions

Christ's Church Cathedral, Hamilton - 4:00pm

More Events