2016 Order of Niagara Recipients Honoured

Posted October 16, 2016

Through the Order of Niagara, our diocese seeks to honour lay people and their important contributions to our common ministry.  Created in 2000, clergy are invited each year to nominate a person who has given of themselves to the parish, diocese and the wider Church. The Bishop also makes direct appointments to the Order of Niagara.

The recipients inducted into the Order in 2016 include:

Mary Anderson, St.Alban’s, Acton

Mike Atkinson, St.George’s, Lowville

Jane Beckett, St.James, Dundas

Lynne Brody, St.Luke’s, Palermo

Joanne Brown, Christ Church, Niagara Falls

Drew Bucknall, St.Jude’s, Oakville

Gary Bugler, St.Aidan’s, Oakville

John Butt, St.James and St.Brendan’s, Port Colborne

Nancy Cook, Holy Trinity, Niagara Falls

Elizabeth Decker, All Saints, Hamilton

William Dodds, Grace, Waterdown

Elbert Doornekamp, St.John’s, Ridgemount

Grace Evans, St.James, Guelph

Christine Gibson, St.John’s, Burlington

Robert Goodwin, St.Christopher’s, Burlington

Anne Gould, St.Paul’s, Shelburne

Rosemary Horsewood, Christ Church, Flamborough

David Hutchison, St.Cuthbert’s, Oakville

Kenneth Jeanes, St.Matthew, Burlington

Diana Knight, Holy Trinity, Fonthill

Earl Macdonald, St.James, Fergus

John McBride, St.Michael’s, Hamilton

Jim McConnell, Our Saviour The Redeemer, Stoney Creek

Bruce McFarlane, St.Luke’s, Smithville

Rick Mt.Pleasant, St.Elizabeth’s, Burlington

Anne Mirynech, St.George’s, St.Catharines

Helen Neal, St.Andrew’s, Grimsby

John Newton, St.Paul’s, Fort Erie

Jo Nicholl, St.Alban’s, Beamsville

Wanda Perdue, St.John’s, Ancaster

Adrian Peters, Christ Church, Woodburn

Judy Pike, St.Simon’s, Oakville

Paul Pizzolante, St.Luke’s, Burlington

Dee Provost, St.Columba’s, St.Catharines

Pauline Robinson, St.Alban’s, Glen Williams

RoseMary Rusk, St.John’s, Niagara Falls

Pam Spencer, St.John’s, Winona

Nancy Storey, Epiphany, Oakville

Steven Swing, Resurrection, Hamilton

Evelyn Thompson, Grace Church, St.Catharines

WilliamThwaites, Ascension, Hamilton

Maureen Truman, Holy Trinity, Hamilton

Anne-Louise Watts, Christ’s Church Cathedral, Hamilton

Debbie Wojcik, St.Paul’s, Glanford


Bishop’s Appointees

Carol Atkinson   

John Bradley

Bill Hull

Marlene Patterson

Duane Pickle

Margret Sweetlove

The installation services took place on October 2nd and 16th at Christ's Church Cathedral in Hamilton.