General Synod

General Synod

The General Synod of the Anglican Church of Canada (ACC) is the chief governing and legislative body of the ACC, the sole Canadian representative of the Anglican Communion. The first General Synod session was held in Toronto in 1893, with the proviso that the parameters of its authority would not undermine the local independence of dioceses.

The next General Synod will be hosted by the Diocese of New Westminster in British Columbia in 2019.

The Diocese of Niagara elected lay and clergy the following delegates to form its delegation to General Synod 2016:

  • Youth Delegate: Siobhan Bennett
  • Lay Delegates: Susan Little, Pat Davis, Andrew Clinkard and Geoff Small
  • Clergy Delegates: Martha Tatarnic, Bill Mous, Max Woolaver, Peter Wall and, of course, Bishop Michael Bird.


April 26 2017 Grant Workshop to help obtain financial assistance for your parish

St. Andrew's, Grimsby - 7:00-9:00pm

Read more

April 29 2017 Greening Celebration

St. James, Dundas - 9:30am-12:30pm

Read more

May 7 2017 Confirmation – Brock, Trafalgar and Undermount Regions

Christ's Church Cathedral, Hamilton - 4:00pm

May 9 2017 Naloxone Training: Responding to an Opioid Overdose

Christ's Church Cathedral, Hamilton - 7:30-8:30pm

Read more

May 11 2017 Clergy & Licensed Lay Workers Day

St. John's, Ancaster - 9:30am to 3:30pm

Read more

May 11 2017 2017 refresh - God in my Ambition

Wycliffe College

Read more

May 14 2017 Canterbury Hill Camp Open House

Canterbury Hills Camp - 1:30-4:00pm

Read more

More Events